Conflict of Interest Staff

  • Neal Thomas, M.D.
    Associate Dean for Clinical Research
    Phone:  717-531-5337
    Email:  nthomas@psu.edu
  • Richard Mailman, Ph.D.
    Chair, Conflict of Interest Review Committee
    Phone:  717-531-3666
    Email:  rmailman@psu.edu
  • Sheila Vrana, Ph.D
    Associate Dean for Research
    Phone:  717- 531-8495
    Email: svrana@hmc.psu.edu
  • Marisa Klein, CHRC
    Conflict of Interest Specialist
    Phone:  717-531-0003 ext. 283526
    Email: mklein1@hmc.psu.edu


To reach the Conflict of Interest Staff:

Email:  COIProgram@hmc.psu.edu

Phone:  717-531-0003 ext. 283526

Conflict of Interest Review Committee

The Conflict of Interest Review Committee (CIRC) provides oversight for clinical, educational, and research conflicts on the College of Medicine campus. The Committee is charged with determining whether an actual or perceived conflict of interest does exist between any significant financial interests reported by a faculty or staff member and their clinical, educational, research, or administrative responsibilities. When these conflicts, or potential conflicts, are found, it is the responsibility of this committee to oversee their management, in order to maintain the integrity of any faculty members' professional responsibility. The Committee will attempt to recommend management of the conflict of interest, taking steps to reasonably eliminate bias in research, teaching, or clinical care. If this cannot be accomplished, then the committee and the conflict of interest staff will suggest optimal ways to reduce, or even eliminate the conflict.

When any College faculty or staff member has disclosed a financial interest which may represent a conflict, they will be contacted by the Conflict of Interest Coordinator, who will obtain the necessary information regarding the conflict for discussion by the CIRC. The CIRC meets monthly, to discuss and resolve all cases brought before it. Faculty or staff members are encouraged to attend any meeting at which their interests will be discussed. In this way, information can be most easily shared with the committee, and the committee can make the most reasonable and informed decisions and recommendations.

Information regarding the meetings of the committee, and attending a meeting, may be obtained from the Conflict of Interest Specialist.

Members of the Conflict of Interest Review Committee

  • James R. Connor, Ph.D.*
    Professor, Neurosurgery
    Phone:  717-531-4541
    Email:  jrc3@psu.edu
  • Sue Chobanoff, CCRC
    Compliance Specialist - IRB Coordinator
    Human Subjects Protection Office

    Phone:  717- 531-5687
    Email:  schobanoff@hmc.psu.edu
  • Ronald Domen, M.D. (CIRC Vice Chair)*
    Professor of Pathology, Medicine and Humanities
    Phone:  717-531-6525
    Email:  rdomen@psu.edu
  • John Dossett, M.D.* 
    Professor, Pediatrics
    Phone:  717-531-5606
    Email:  jdossett@psu.edu
  • Vincent Falvo
    Associate Controller
    Phone:  717-531-7674
    Email:  vfalvo@hmc.psu.edu
  • Joseph Jilka, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean for Research Innovation; Director, Office of Technology Development
    Email:  jjilka@hmc.psu.edu
  • David T. Mauger, Ph.D.*                                                                                                                                                                   Professor, Public Health Sciences
    Phone:  717-531-7178
    Email:  dtm5@psu.edu
  • John May
    Chief Compliance Officer
    Phone:  717-531-6713
    Email:  jmay@psu.edu
  • Leslie Parent, M.D., Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
    Professor of Medicine and Microbiology & Immunology
    Email:  lparent@hmc.psu.edu
  • Jennifer Toth, M.D.* 
    Associate Professor of Medicine; Director, Interventional Pulmonology & Bronchoscopy
    Email:  jtoth@hmc.psu.edu
  • Sarah Hussain, M.D.*
    Assistant Professor of Medicine
    Email:  shussain1@hmc.psu.edu
  • Nadine Hempel, Ph.D.* 
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology
    Email:  nhempel@hmc.psu.edu
  • Community Member: Barbara Conklin*

* = voting member

Meeting Dates of the Conflict of Interest Review Committee

 Meeting Date  Submission Deadline
November 10, 2015 October 30
December 1, 2015 November 20
January 12, 2016 January 1
February 9, 2016 January 29
 March 8, 2016 February 26
 April 12, 2016 April 1
 May 10, 2016 April 29
June 14, 2016 June 3
July 12, 2016 July 1
August 9, 2016 July 29
September 13, 2016 September 2